IN Country guide
Rybelsus in India
What Rybelsus costs in India, how to get a prescription, what Mostly out of pocket (CGHS, ESIC and PM-JAY have limited relevance) covers and which registered suppliers can provide it.
- Sold as
- Rybelsus Available
- Strengths
- 3 mg · 7 mg · 14 mg
- Licensed for
- Type 2 diabetes in adults whose blood sugar is not controlled well enough, alongside diet and exercise.
- Prescription
- Prescription-only.
- Public cover
- Mostly out of pocket (CGHS, ESIC and PM-JAY have limited relevance)
- Typical cash price
- ₹8,914.50–₹10,88430 tablets (three strips of 10) at MRP; online pharmacy discounts lower this
- Medicines regulator
- Central Drugs Standard Control Organisation (CDSCO), headed by the Drugs Controller General of India (DCGI)
What is sold here
India sells the original Rybelsus 3 mg, 7 mg and 14 mg tablets in strips of 10. The newer 1.5 mg, 4 mg and 9 mg tablets sold in some other countries were not listed by Indian pharmacies in September 2026. Generic oral semaglutide from Dr Reddy's (Obeda) and Torrent (Semalix and Sembolic) comes in the same 3, 7 and 14 mg strengths. Some pharmacy listings name Abbott India as the marketer of Rybelsus and others Novo Nordisk India.
What it is licensed for
Type 2 diabetes in adults whose blood sugar is not controlled well enough, alongside diet and exercise. Rybelsus and the generic oral semaglutide tablets are licensed for type 2 diabetes, not for weight loss.
Prescription rules
Prescription-only. Pharmacies, including e-pharmacies, must see a valid prescription from a registered medical practitioner before dispensing. The prescribing information for Torrent's generic Semalix tablets states that they are to be sold by retail on the prescription of an endocrinologist or internal medicine specialist only; check the label of other generics too.
How to get a prescription
Rybelsus and generic oral semaglutide need a prescription. The usual route is to see a doctor in person or by teleconsultation: a physician, diabetologist or endocrinologist will check your HbA1c and other results and decide whether oral semaglutide is suitable. For at least one generic (Torrent's Semalix), the approved labelling says it should be sold only on the prescription of an endocrinologist or internal medicine specialist, so a prescription from a GP may not be accepted for it.
With a prescription you can buy Rybelsus or a generic from any licensed chemist, or order online from an e-pharmacy such as Tata 1mg, Apollo Pharmacy, PharmEasy, Netmeds, Truemeds or MedPlus. You upload a photo of the prescription, the platform's pharmacist checks it, and the medicine is delivered by a licensed pharmacy. Several of these platforms also offer online doctor consultations under the Telemedicine Practice Guidelines 2020.
If cost matters, ask your doctor whether a generic (Obeda from Dr Reddy's, or Semalix or Sembolic from Torrent) is suitable. They contain the same active ingredient in the same strengths at roughly a third to two-thirds of the Rybelsus price, but follow the leaflet for your specific brand because instructions can differ, and do not switch without your doctor's advice.
Cost and cover
Mostly out of pocket (CGHS, ESIC and PM-JAY have limited relevance)
Most people in India pay for Rybelsus themselves. Ayushman Bharat PM-JAY covers hospital treatment rather than ongoing outpatient medicines, and most private health insurance policies likewise cover hospitalisation rather than monthly prescriptions unless you have an outpatient (OPD) add-on. Central government employees and pensioners in the Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS), and workers covered by ESIC, get medicines through their scheme's dispensaries subject to its formulary and specialist prescription rules; ask your CGHS wellness centre or ESIC dispensary whether semaglutide tablets are available. We could not confirm semaglutide in the Jan Aushadhi (PMBJP) generic medicines range. The main way people cut the cost in 2026 is the switch to generic oral semaglutide, which costs roughly a third to two-thirds of the Rybelsus price.
Paying yourself
In September 2026 the maximum retail prices (MRPs) of Rybelsus were INR 2,971.50 (3 mg), INR 3,300 (7 mg) and INR 3,628 (14 mg) per strip of 10 tablets, or roughly INR 8,900 to INR 10,900 for 30 tablets. Online pharmacies sell below MRP: discounts of about 3% to 16% were shown, before coupons. Novo Nordisk cut the Indian prices of its injectable semaglutide brands (Ozempic by up to 36% and Wegovy by up to 48%) after generics launched in March 2026, but said it was not planning a similar cut for Rybelsus. Generic oral semaglutide is much cheaper: Obeda (Dr Reddy's) costs INR 990, 1,350 and 2,250 per strip of 10 for 3, 7 and 14 mg, and Semalix and Sembolic (Torrent) INR 1,090, 1,490 and 2,540.
Prices checked 22 September 2026. They change; the supplier's own site is the final word.
Where to get it
Registered suppliers in India
Advertising prescription-only medicines to the public is not allowed in India, so this is a neutral directory: suppliers are listed alphabetically, we do not show their prices or rank them, and we are not paid for these links.
Online pharmacy
Apollo Pharmacy (Apollo 24|7)
Registered with State drug control department (retail drug licence)
- Online consultation
- Yes
- Fills your own prescription
- Yes
Oral medicines supplied:RybelsusPharmacy chain
MedPlus
Registered with State drug control department (retail drug licence)
- Online consultation
- Not stated
- Fills your own prescription
- Yes
Oral medicines supplied:RybelsusOnline pharmacy
Netmeds
Registered with State drug control department (retail drug licence)
- Online consultation
- Not stated
- Fills your own prescription
- Yes
Oral medicines supplied:RybelsusOnline pharmacy
PharmEasy
Registered with State drug control department (retail drug licence)
- Online consultation
- Yes
- Fills your own prescription
- Yes
Oral medicines supplied:RybelsusOnline pharmacy
Tata 1mg
Registered with State drug control department (retail drug licence)
- Online consultation
- Yes
- Fills your own prescription
- Yes
Oral medicines supplied:RybelsusOnline pharmacy
Truemeds
Registered with State drug control department (retail drug licence)
- Online consultation
- Yes
- Fills your own prescription
- Yes
Oral medicines supplied:Rybelsus
Checking a pharmacy is genuine
India has no central register of online pharmacies, because the 2018 draft e-pharmacy rules were never finalised. Check that the platform names the licensed pharmacy that dispenses your order and shows its retail drug licence numbers (issued by the state drug control department on Forms 20 and 21 under the Drugs and Cosmetics Rules 1945), that a registered pharmacist is responsible, and that it asks for a valid prescription before dispensing Rybelsus or generic semaglutide. You can confirm a drug licence with the drug control department of the state where the pharmacy is based.
- Medicines regulatorCentral Drugs Standard Control Organisation (CDSCO), headed by the Drugs Controller General of India (DCGI) ↗
- Pharmacy regulatorState drug control departments (retail drug licences) and State Pharmacy Councils
- Prescriber regulatorNational Medical Commission (NMC); online consultations follow the Telemedicine Practice Guidelines 2020 ↗
Fake semaglutide is widespread. Any site that offers Rybelsus without a prescription, or at a price far below everyone else, should be avoided. How to buy safely.
Other options in India
How the other semaglutide and GLP-1 medicines stand here. Tablets first; injections for comparison.
-
We found no CDSCO approval or Indian launch of oral semaglutide 25 mg for weight management as of 22 September 2026.
-
The CDSCO Subject Expert Committee recommended permission to import and market Eli Lilly's orforglipron tablets (0.8, 2.5, 5.5, 9, 14.5 and 17.2 mg), reported on 8 June 2026, on condition that retail sale is only on the prescription of an endocrinologist or internal medicine specialist and that a phase IV trial is run. We found no confirmed final approval, Indian brand name or launch as of 22 September 2026.
-
Launched in India on 12 December 2025. Novo Nordisk cut Ozempic prices by up to 36% in 2026 after generic semaglutide launched.
-
Launched in India in June 2025; also sold by Emcure under the brand Poviztra. Novo Nordisk cut Wegovy prices by up to 48% in 2026.
-
Mounjaro single-dose injections and KwikPen (2.5 mg to 15 mg) are listed by Indian online pharmacies for type 2 diabetes and weight management.
-
Novo Nordisk's core Indian semaglutide patent expired in March 2026 and generic injections from Dr Reddy's, Sun Pharma, Zydus, Alkem, Glenmark, Natco, Torrent, Mankind and others launched from 21 March 2026. Generic ORAL semaglutide tablets are also on sale: Torrent launched Semalix and Sembolic on 21 March 2026 (the first Indian generic oral semaglutide) and Dr Reddy's launched Obeda tablets on 20 May 2026 at INR 99, 135 and 225 per tablet (3, 7 and 14 mg). Oral generics are approved for type 2 diabetes.
Rybelsus in India: questions
Is there a generic version of Rybelsus in India?
Yes. Since semaglutide's Indian patent expired in March 2026, two companies have launched generic oral semaglutide tablets in the same 3 mg, 7 mg and 14 mg strengths: Torrent (Semalix and Sembolic, from 21 March 2026) and Dr Reddy's (Obeda, from 20 May 2026). In September 2026 a strip of 10 cost INR 990 to 2,250 for Obeda and INR 1,090 to 2,540 for Semalix and Sembolic, against INR 2,971.50 to 3,628 for Rybelsus. They are approved for type 2 diabetes and need a prescription.
How much does Rybelsus cost in India?
The MRP in September 2026 was INR 2,971.50 for 3 mg, INR 3,300 for 7 mg and INR 3,628 for 14 mg, per strip of 10 tablets. A month (30 tablets) therefore costs about INR 8,900 to 10,900 at MRP. Online pharmacies usually sell a few per cent below MRP, and coupons can lower it further.
Did Novo Nordisk cut the price of Rybelsus in India?
No. After generic semaglutide launched in March 2026, Novo Nordisk cut the Indian prices of its injections (Ozempic by up to 36% and Wegovy by up to 48%) but said it was not planning a similar cut for Rybelsus. The cheaper option for oral semaglutide is a generic, if your doctor agrees.
Can I buy Rybelsus online in India?
Yes, from e-pharmacies such as Tata 1mg, Apollo Pharmacy, PharmEasy, Netmeds, Truemeds and MedPlus, which dispense through licensed pharmacies after checking an uploaded prescription. India has never finalised its 2018 draft e-pharmacy rules and chemists' groups are challenging online sales in court, so the legal framework is unsettled, but online supply by licensed pharmacies against a prescription is not banned.
Do I need a specialist's prescription for semaglutide tablets?
You always need a prescription from a registered medical practitioner. Some generics go further: the prescribing information for Torrent's Semalix says it is to be sold by retail on the prescription of an endocrinologist or internal medicine specialist only, so pharmacies may not accept a prescription from another doctor for it. Check the label of the brand you are prescribed.
Are the generic semaglutide tablets as good as Rybelsus?
They contain the same active ingredient and are approved by India's drug regulator. Dr Reddy's says its approval followed a phase III study of 288 patients showing efficacy and safety comparable to the original. Oral semaglutide is sensitive to how the tablet is made and how it is taken, so follow the leaflet for your specific brand and talk to your doctor before switching.
Is the Wegovy pill or Foundayo available in India?
Not yet, as far as we could find on 22 September 2026. We found no Indian approval for the Wegovy pill (oral semaglutide 25 mg). For Foundayo (orforglipron), a CDSCO expert committee recommended approval in mid-2026 with a specialist-prescription condition, but we found no launch. Injectable Wegovy, Ozempic and Mounjaro are available.
Does insurance or CGHS cover Rybelsus in India?
Most people pay out of pocket. PM-JAY and most private health insurance cover hospital treatment rather than monthly outpatient medicines, unless you have an outpatient add-on. CGHS and ESIC beneficiaries receive medicines through their scheme's formulary and dispensaries, so ask there whether semaglutide tablets are supplied.
Sources
- Apollo Pharmacy: Rybelsus 3 mg, 10 tablets (MRP INR 2,971.50) apollopharmacy.in
- Apollo Pharmacy: Rybelsus 7 mg, 10 tablets (MRP INR 3,300) apollopharmacy.in
- Apollo Pharmacy: Rybelsus 14 mg, 10 tablets (MRP INR 3,628) apollopharmacy.in
- Apollo Pharmacy search: semaglutide tablets (Obeda, Semalix, Sembolic prices) apollopharmacy.in
- Business Standard: Novo Nordisk cuts Ozempic, Wegovy prices in India (no Rybelsus cut planned) business-standard.com
- Torrent Pharma: launch of oral and injectable semaglutide (21 March 2026) torrentpharma.com
- Business Today: Dr Reddy's launches oral semaglutide tablets at INR 99 per pill (20 May 2026) businesstoday.in
- Semalix prescribing information (retail sale restricted to endocrinologists and internal medicine specialists) torrentpharma.com
- MediaNama: Centre fails to form policy for online sale of medicines (July 2024) medianama.com
- Medical Dialogues: AIOCD strike against online medicine sales (May 2026) medicaldialogues.in
Elsewhere