US Country guide
Rybelsus in the US, now the Ozempic pill
Rybelsus is now sold as the Ozempic pill in the US. Same medicine, new name. What it costs, how to get a prescription and where to get it.
- Sold as
- Ozempic pill Renamed
- Strengths
- 1.5 mg · 4 mg · 9 mg
- Licensed for
- Type 2 diabetes in adults, alongside diet and exercise, to improve blood sugar control, and to reduce the risk of major cardiovascular events (heart attack, stroke or cardiovascular death) in adults with type 2 diabetes at high cardiovascular risk.
- Prescription
- Prescription-only (Rx).
- Public cover
- Medicare Part D, Medicaid and private insurance
- Typical cash price
- $149–$29930 tablets (one month) of the Ozempic pill, self-pay, NovoCare Pharmacy or local pharmacy with Novo Nordisk's self-pay offer; excludes telehealth fees
- Medicines regulator
- US Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
What is sold here
In the US the oral semaglutide tablet for type 2 diabetes is now sold as Ozempic tablets, usually called the Ozempic pill. The FDA approved the Ozempic name for the newer 1.5 mg, 4 mg and 9 mg tablets on 30 January 2026 (Novo Nordisk announced it on 4 February 2026) and they launched on 4 May 2026. They replace the Rybelsus 3 mg, 7 mg and 14 mg tablets: 1.5 mg is equivalent to 3 mg, 4 mg to 7 mg and 9 mg to 14 mg, thanks to a reformulation that is absorbed better. Novo Nordisk stopped shipping Rybelsus to wholesalers in May 2026 and remaining stock became limited from July 2026, so the Rybelsus brand has been retired in the US. Insurer notices (Illinois Medicaid, Priority Health) say people switching need a new prescription for Ozempic tablets; patients are not converted automatically. A 25 mg Ozempic tablet has been filed with the FDA, with a decision expected by the end of 2026.
What it is licensed for
Type 2 diabetes in adults, alongside diet and exercise, to improve blood sugar control, and to reduce the risk of major cardiovascular events (heart attack, stroke or cardiovascular death) in adults with type 2 diabetes at high cardiovascular risk. It is not approved for weight loss; the Wegovy pill is the oral semaglutide approved for weight management.
Prescription rules
Prescription-only (Rx). A prescription can come from your own doctor or from a licensed telehealth clinician after an online consultation.
How to get a prescription
If you have type 2 diabetes, the usual route is your own doctor or endocrinologist, who can prescribe the Ozempic pill and send it to a local pharmacy, a mail-order pharmacy or NovoCare Pharmacy. If you have commercial insurance, ask the pharmacy to apply Novo Nordisk's savings card; if you are on Medicare Part D or Medicaid, coverage depends on your plan's formulary and usually needs prior authorization.
If you do not have a regular doctor, licensed telehealth services can prescribe after an online consultation. You fill in a medical questionnaire, may need recent lab results such as an HbA1c, and a clinician licensed in your state reviews it, sometimes with a video visit. Telehealth fees vary: some charge a one-off visit fee, others a monthly membership, and the medicine is usually charged separately at or near the manufacturer's self-pay price.
If you are paying cash, the manufacturer's self-pay prices ($149, $199 or $299 a month depending on strength) apply at NovoCare Pharmacy and at local pharmacies with Novo's offer, so it is worth comparing the total monthly cost (medicine plus any membership) before choosing a service. If you already take Rybelsus, ask your prescriber for a new prescription for the equivalent Ozempic pill strength.
Cost and cover
Medicare Part D, Medicaid and private insurance
There is no national health service. Most commercial insurance plans and most Medicare Part D plans cover semaglutide for type 2 diabetes, usually with prior authorization, and the Ozempic pill has the same prescribing information as Rybelsus, so plans have generally moved Rybelsus coverage across. Some insurers converted existing Rybelsus prior authorizations automatically; others require a new request.
State Medicaid programs cover GLP-1 medicines for type 2 diabetes, typically with prior authorization and a small or no co-pay; for example Illinois Medicaid lists both Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets as preferred with prior authorization.
People with commercial insurance may be able to use Novo Nordisk's savings card to pay as little as $25 a month for up to 3 months (maximum saving $100 a month); people on Medicare, Medicaid or other government plans cannot use it. The Medicare GLP-1 Bridge ($50 a month, 1 July 2026 to 31 December 2027) covers Wegovy, Foundayo and Zepbound for weight loss only and excludes people with type 2 diabetes, who continue to get the Ozempic pill through their normal Part D plan.
Paying yourself
Paying cash, the Ozempic pill costs $149 a month for 1.5 mg, $199 for 4 mg and $299 for 9 mg (30 tablets) through NovoCare Pharmacy, which is Novo Nordisk's own home-delivery pharmacy, and the same self-pay prices are available at local pharmacies with Novo's savings offer, Costco Pharmacy (for members), Amazon Pharmacy and through GoodRx. Telehealth services add their own consultation or membership fees on top, typically from about $29 a visit to $149 a month. With commercial insurance, the savings card can bring the co-pay down to $25 a month for up to 3 months.
Before the rename, Rybelsus had a list price of about $998 for 30 tablets and pharmacy cash prices of roughly $1,000 to $1,400 a month; we found no published manufacturer self-pay price for Rybelsus, so most people used it with insurance. Novo Nordisk has announced that the list price of its semaglutide medicines (including Rybelsus 7 mg and 14 mg) will fall to $675 a month from 1 January 2027; this does not change the self-pay prices.
Prices checked 22 September 2026. They change; the supplier's own site is the final word.
Where to get it
Compare suppliers in the US
Prices are shown as published by each supplier. Some links are affiliate links: we may earn a commission, at no cost to you, and it never changes the order or the prices shown.
Ozempic pill formerly Rybelsus
| Supplier | Monthly medication price | Consultation | Membership | First month from | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Costco PharmacyPharmacy chainTakes insurance |
| Bring your own prescription | None stated | $149 | Visit site ↗ of Costco Pharmacy (opens in a new tab) |
| GoodRxDiscount card |
| Not stated | None stated | $149 | Visit site ↗ of GoodRx (opens in a new tab) |
| NovoCare PharmacyManufacturer pharmacy |
| Bring your own prescription | None stated | $149 | Visit site ↗ of NovoCare Pharmacy (opens in a new tab) |
| Amazon PharmacyOnline pharmacyTakes insurance |
| $39 | None stated | $188 | Visit site ↗ of Amazon Pharmacy (opens in a new tab) |
| WalgreensPharmacy chainTakes insurance |
| $49 | None stated | $198 | Visit site ↗ of Walgreens (opens in a new tab) |
| WeightWatchers (Med+ / WeightWatchers Clinic)Online doctor / telehealthTakes insurance |
| Not stated | $74per month | $223 | Visit site ↗ of WeightWatchers (Med+ / WeightWatchers Clinic) (opens in a new tab) |
| Hims & HersOnline doctor / telehealth |
| Not stated | $149per month | $298 | Visit site ↗ of Hims & Hers (opens in a new tab) |
Wegovy pill
| Supplier | Monthly medication price | Consultation | Membership | First month from | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Costco PharmacyPharmacy chainTakes insurance |
| Bring your own prescription | None stated | $149 | Visit site ↗ of Costco Pharmacy (opens in a new tab) |
| GoodRxDiscount card |
| Not stated | None stated | $149 | Visit site ↗ of GoodRx (opens in a new tab) |
| NovoCare PharmacyManufacturer pharmacy |
| Bring your own prescription | None stated | $149 | Visit site ↗ of NovoCare Pharmacy (opens in a new tab) |
| Ro (Ro Body)Online doctor / telehealthTakes insurance |
| Not stated | None stated | $149 | Visit site ↗ of Ro (Ro Body) (opens in a new tab) |
| CVS Pharmacy / MinuteClinicPharmacy chainTakes insurance |
| $29 | None stated | $178 | Visit site ↗ of CVS Pharmacy / MinuteClinic (opens in a new tab) |
| Amazon PharmacyOnline pharmacyTakes insurance |
| $39 | None stated | $188 | Visit site ↗ of Amazon Pharmacy (opens in a new tab) |
| WalgreensPharmacy chainTakes insurance |
| $49 | None stated | $198 | Visit site ↗ of Walgreens (opens in a new tab) |
| WeightWatchers (Med+ / WeightWatchers Clinic)Online doctor / telehealthTakes insurance |
| Not stated | $74per month | $223 | Visit site ↗ of WeightWatchers (Med+ / WeightWatchers Clinic) (opens in a new tab) |
| Mochi HealthOnline doctor / telehealthTakes insurance |
| Free | $79per month | $228 | Visit site ↗ of Mochi Health (opens in a new tab) |
| Sesame (Success by Sesame)Online doctor / telehealth |
| Not stated | $99per month | $248 | Visit site ↗ of Sesame (Success by Sesame) (opens in a new tab) |
| Noom MedOnline doctor / telehealthTakes insurance |
| Not stated | $129per month | $278 | Visit site ↗ of Noom Med (opens in a new tab) |
| Hims & HersOnline doctor / telehealth |
| Not stated | $149per month | $298 | Visit site ↗ of Hims & Hers (opens in a new tab) |
| LifeMDOnline doctor / telehealthTakes insurance |
| Free | $149per month | $298 | Visit site ↗ of LifeMD (opens in a new tab) |
| knownwellOnline doctor / telehealthTakes insurance |
| $299 | None stated | $448 | Visit site ↗ of knownwell (opens in a new tab) |
Foundayo
| Supplier | Monthly medication price | Consultation | Membership | First month from | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GoodRxDiscount card |
| Not stated | None stated | $149 | Visit site ↗ of GoodRx (opens in a new tab) |
| LillyDirectManufacturer pharmacyTakes insurance |
| Bring your own prescription | None stated | $149 | Visit site ↗ of LillyDirect (opens in a new tab) |
| Ro (Ro Body)Online doctor / telehealthTakes insurance |
| Not stated | None stated | $149 | Visit site ↗ of Ro (Ro Body) (opens in a new tab) |
| CVS Pharmacy / MinuteClinicPharmacy chainTakes insurance |
| $29 | None stated | $178 | Visit site ↗ of CVS Pharmacy / MinuteClinic (opens in a new tab) |
| Amazon PharmacyOnline pharmacyTakes insurance |
| $39 | None stated | $188 | Visit site ↗ of Amazon Pharmacy (opens in a new tab) |
| WalgreensPharmacy chainTakes insurance |
| $49 | None stated | $198 | Visit site ↗ of Walgreens (opens in a new tab) |
| WeightWatchers (Med+ / WeightWatchers Clinic)Online doctor / telehealthTakes insurance |
| Not stated | $74per month | $223 | Visit site ↗ of WeightWatchers (Med+ / WeightWatchers Clinic) (opens in a new tab) |
| Mochi HealthOnline doctor / telehealthTakes insurance |
| Free | $79per month | $228 | Visit site ↗ of Mochi Health (opens in a new tab) |
| Sesame (Success by Sesame)Online doctor / telehealth |
| Not stated | $99per month | $248 | Visit site ↗ of Sesame (Success by Sesame) (opens in a new tab) |
| Noom MedOnline doctor / telehealthTakes insurance |
| Not stated | $129per month | $278 | Visit site ↗ of Noom Med (opens in a new tab) |
| Hims & HersOnline doctor / telehealth |
| Not stated | $149per month | $298 | Visit site ↗ of Hims & Hers (opens in a new tab) |
| knownwellOnline doctor / telehealthTakes insurance |
| $299 | None stated | $448 | Visit site ↗ of knownwell (opens in a new tab) |
Medication prices are what each supplier publishes for a 30-day supply paying without insurance, unless marked. Consultation and membership fees are charged by the prescribing service. "First month from" adds the lowest dose price to any consultation and membership fee.
Checking a pharmacy is genuine
Pharmacies are licensed state by state, and an online pharmacy must be licensed in the state it ships to. To check one: find the dispensing pharmacy's name on the site (telehealth services usually name their partner pharmacy), then look it up on the licence search of your state board of pharmacy, which you can find through NABP's board directory or the FDA's BeSafeRx page.
Two voluntary checks add confidence. NABP's Digital Pharmacy Accreditation is only open to licensed US pharmacies and requires a .pharmacy web address, so a site ending in .pharmacy has passed NABP's review; NABP also lists accredited sites and sites it does not recommend at safe.pharmacy. LegitScript certifies online pharmacies and telehealth services (Google, Meta and the card networks rely on it), and you can enter a web address in its certification lookup to see whether the site is certified.
Warning signs of a rogue site: no prescription required, prices far below the manufacturer's self-pay price, no US address or pharmacist contact, or shipping from outside the US.
- Medicines regulatorUS Food and Drug Administration (FDA) ↗
- Pharmacy regulatorState boards of pharmacy, with the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) and LegitScript ↗
- Prescriber regulatorState medical boards (doctors, including telehealth clinicians, must be licensed in the patient's state); licence lookup via the Federation of State Medical Boards' DocInfo.org ↗
Fake semaglutide is widespread. Any site that offers Rybelsus without a prescription, or at a price far below everyone else, should be avoided. How to buy safely.
Other options in the US
How the other semaglutide and GLP-1 medicines stand here. Tablets first; injections for comparison.
-
Oral semaglutide for weight management (1.5 mg, 4 mg, 9 mg, 25 mg), FDA-approved on 22 December 2025 and launched in early January 2026. Self-pay $149 (1.5 mg), $199 (4 mg; $149 until 31 August 2026), $299 (9 mg and 25 mg) a month. Covered by the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge for eligible people from 1 July 2026.
-
Eli Lilly's orforglipron, a once-daily non-peptide GLP-1 pill for weight management that can be taken at any time of day without food or water restrictions. FDA-approved on 1 April 2026; shipping from LillyDirect began on 6 April 2026, followed by retail pharmacies and telehealth. LillyDirect self-pay prices run from $149 a month (0.8 mg) to $349 a month for the top strengths ($299 if refilled within 45 days), with temporary reductions on 2.5 mg and 5.5 mg through 31 December 2026. Covered by the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge for eligible people.
-
Once-weekly semaglutide injection for type 2 diabetes, FDA-approved in December 2017. NovoCare Pharmacy self-pay: $199 a month for the first two months of 0.25 mg or 0.5 mg for new patients (offer through 31 December 2026), then $349 a month for 0.25 mg, 0.5 mg or 1 mg and $499 a month for 2 mg.
-
Once-weekly semaglutide injection for weight management, FDA-approved in June 2021. NovoCare Pharmacy self-pay: $199 a month for the first two months of 0.25 mg or 0.5 mg for new patients (through 31 December 2026), then $349 a month, or $399 a month for the Wegovy HD 7.2 mg pen.
-
Once-weekly tirzepatide injection for type 2 diabetes, FDA-approved in May 2022. The same medicine is sold for weight management as Zepbound.
-
No generic semaglutide is marketed in the US; semaglutide is not expected to lose US patent protection before December 2031. Compounded semaglutide is not FDA-approved: the FDA declared the semaglutide shortage over on 21 February 2025 and the grace periods for mass compounding ended on 22 April 2025 (503A pharmacies) and 22 May 2025 (503B outsourcing facilities). Compounded products are outside the scope of this site.
Rybelsus in the US: questions
Is Rybelsus discontinued?
Yes, in the US. Novo Nordisk has replaced Rybelsus with Ozempic tablets (the Ozempic pill), which contain the same medicine, semaglutide, in a new formulation. Shipments of Rybelsus to wholesalers stopped in May 2026 and remaining stock became limited from July 2026. Rybelsus continues to be sold under that name outside the US.
Is the Ozempic pill the same as Rybelsus?
It is the same medicine for the same use (type 2 diabetes) with the same prescribing information, but it is a reformulated tablet that is absorbed better, so the doses are lower: 1.5 mg replaces 3 mg, 4 mg replaces 7 mg and 9 mg replaces 14 mg. It is taken the same way, once a day on an empty stomach with a small sip of water, at least 30 minutes before food, drink or other medicines.
How much is the Ozempic pill without insurance?
Novo Nordisk's self-pay price is $149 a month for 1.5 mg, $199 for 4 mg and $299 for 9 mg (30 tablets), through NovoCare Pharmacy home delivery, local pharmacies with Novo's offer, Costco Pharmacy (members), Amazon Pharmacy or a GoodRx coupon. Telehealth services may add a visit or membership fee. Before the rename, Rybelsus cost around $1,000 a month without insurance.
Do I need a new prescription to switch from Rybelsus to the Ozempic pill?
Yes. Because the strengths are different, your prescriber must write a new prescription for the equivalent Ozempic pill dose. Many insurers have moved existing Rybelsus prior authorizations across automatically, but some, including some Medicaid programs, require a new request.
Does insurance cover the Ozempic pill?
Most commercial plans and most Medicare Part D plans cover semaglutide for type 2 diabetes, usually with prior authorization, and state Medicaid programs cover it, usually with prior authorization. With commercial insurance, Novo Nordisk's savings card can reduce the co-pay to as little as $25 a month for up to 3 months (maximum saving $100 a month); it cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government coverage.
Can I get the Ozempic pill for weight loss?
The Ozempic pill is approved only for type 2 diabetes. For weight management the FDA has approved the Wegovy pill (oral semaglutide up to 25 mg) and Foundayo (orforglipron), both with self-pay prices starting at $149 a month. A prescriber can decide which, if any, is appropriate for you.
Can I buy the Ozempic pill online without a prescription?
No. It is prescription-only, and any site that offers it without a prescription is operating illegally and may sell counterfeit or unsafe products. Legitimate online options either fill a prescription from your own doctor or run their own consultation with a clinician licensed in your state.
What is the difference between the Wegovy pill and the Ozempic pill?
Both are oral semaglutide from Novo Nordisk. The Ozempic pill (1.5, 4 and 9 mg) is approved for type 2 diabetes; the Wegovy pill (1.5, 4, 9 and 25 mg) is approved for weight management and cardiovascular risk reduction in people with obesity or overweight. The self-pay prices are the same for matching strengths.
What is Foundayo and how does it compare?
Foundayo (orforglipron) is Eli Lilly's once-daily GLP-1 pill for weight management, approved by the FDA on 1 April 2026. Unlike oral semaglutide it can be taken at any time of day without food or water restrictions. It is sold through LillyDirect, pharmacies and telehealth services, with self-pay prices from $149 a month for the lowest dose.
Does Medicare cover the Ozempic pill?
For type 2 diabetes, most Medicare Part D plans cover it, usually with prior authorization; your cost depends on your plan. The separate Medicare GLP-1 Bridge ($50 a month from 1 July 2026 to 31 December 2027) covers Wegovy, Foundayo and Zepbound for weight loss only and excludes people with type 2 diabetes. Novo Nordisk's $25 savings card cannot be used with Medicare.
Is there a generic Ozempic pill or generic semaglutide in the US?
No. No generic semaglutide is sold in the US and patent protection is expected to last until at least December 2031. Compounded semaglutide is not FDA-approved, and since the shortage ended in 2025 pharmacies can no longer routinely compound copies of it.
How do I know an online pharmacy or telehealth service is legitimate?
Check that it requires a prescription, names the licensed US pharmacy that dispenses your medicine, and that the pharmacy appears on your state board of pharmacy's licence search. A .pharmacy web address (NABP Digital Pharmacy Accreditation) or LegitScript certification are further good signs. Avoid sites that sell without a prescription or ship from abroad.
Sources
- MyMatrixx by Evernorth: Ozempic recognized as proprietary semaglutide treatment for diabetes replacing Rybelsus (FDA approval 2026-02-04) mymatrixx.com
- Novo Nordisk press release: Ozempic pill available in the US from 2026-05-04 prnewswire.com
- Prime Therapeutics: GLP-1 pipeline update February 2026 (Ozempic 25 mg sNDA) primetherapeutics.com
- Illinois HFS provider notice 2026-05-21: Rybelsus discontinuation and Ozempic tablets hfs.illinois.gov
- Priority Health: Rybelsus discontinued, to be replaced by Ozempic tablets (2026-08-31) priorityhealth.com
- Fierce Pharma: Rybelsus officially retired in US as Ozempic pill takes branding center stage fiercepharma.com
- NovoCare: Ozempic pill and pen price guide (May 2026) novocare.com
- NovoCare Pharmacy: Ozempic savings and self-pay novocare.com
- CMS: Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, information for Part D plans cms.gov
- AARP: Medicare starts offering $50 GLP-1 doses in July aarp.org
- Noom: Rybelsus cost without insurance (list price about $998) noom.com
- SingleCare: How much is Rybelsus without insurance? (updated 2025-11-11) singlecare.com
- Novo Nordisk press release 2026-02-24: US list price reduction for Wegovy, Ozempic and Rybelsus prnewswire.com
- Amazon Pharmacy: Ozempic 1.5 mg tablets (self-pay price) pharmacy.amazon.com
- Costco Pharmacy: Ozempic member value pricing rx.costco.com
- GoodRx: offerings expanded to include Ozempic pill investors.goodrx.com
- CVS Health 2026-08-05: direct-to-consumer weight management ($29 visits) cvshealth.com
- Hims: weight loss (membership $149 a month after first month) hims.com
- Novo Nordisk press release: Wegovy pill FDA approval (2025-12-22) prnewswire.com
- Novo Nordisk press release: Wegovy pill broadly available across America (January 2026) prnewswire.com
- Wegovy.com: what to pay for Wegovy (4 mg pill offer to 2026-08-31) wegovy.com
- Eli Lilly press release: FDA approves Foundayo (orforglipron), 2026-04-01 prnewswire.com
- LillyDirect: Foundayo self-pay prices lilly.com
- Wikipedia: Semaglutide (US approvals, US patent expiry no earlier than December 2031) en.wikipedia.org
- FDA: clarifies policies for compounders as national GLP-1 supply begins to stabilize fda.gov
- FDA: concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss fda.gov
- FDA BeSafeRx: your source for online pharmacy information fda.gov
- NABP: Digital Pharmacy Accreditation nabp.pharmacy
- NABP: Boards of Pharmacy directory nabp.pharmacy
- LegitScript: website certification status lookup legitscript.com
- FDA press announcement 2025-09-09: FDA launches crackdown on deceptive drug advertising fda.gov
- FTC: Endorsement Guides, what people are asking ftc.gov
Elsewhere