CA Country guide
Rybelsus in Canada
What Rybelsus costs in Canada, how to get a prescription, what Provincial drug plans (Ontario Drug Benefit, BC PharmaCare, RAMQ and others) and private insurance covers and which registered suppliers can provide it.
- Sold as
- Rybelsus Available
- Strengths
- 1.5 mg · 3 mg · 4 mg · 7 mg · 9 mg · 14 mg
- Licensed for
- Type 2 diabetes in adults, alongside diet and exercise, to improve blood sugar control.
- Prescription
- Prescription drug.
- Public cover
- Provincial drug plans (Ontario Drug Benefit, BC PharmaCare, RAMQ and others) and private insurance
- Typical cash price
- C$225.91–C$322.8030 tablets (one month). Low end: Ontario Drug Benefit price before pharmacy markup and dispensing fee. High end: Felix published refill price for Ontario.
- Medicines regulator
- Health Canada
What is sold here
Novo Nordisk announced the updated Rybelsus formulation (1.5 mg, 4 mg and 9 mg tablets) in Canada on 9 June 2026. The new tablets are absorbed better, so lower numbers give the same effect: 3 mg old = 1.5 mg new, 7 mg = 4 mg, 14 mg = 9 mg. They are not interchangeable milligram for milligram, so ask your prescriber or pharmacist before switching. In September 2026 all six strengths were still listed on the Ontario Drug Benefit Formulary (the new ones from 31 March 2026), so pharmacies may stock either during the changeover.
There is no generic oral semaglutide (generic Rybelsus) in Canada. Every generic semaglutide Health Canada has approved since April 2026 is an injection.
What it is licensed for
Type 2 diabetes in adults, alongside diet and exercise, to improve blood sugar control. In 2026 Health Canada also approved Rybelsus to reduce the risk of major adverse cardiovascular events (cardiovascular death, non-fatal heart attack or non-fatal stroke) in adults with type 2 diabetes who have established cardiovascular disease or are at high risk of these events. It is not approved for weight management.
Prescription rules
Prescription drug. You need a prescription from a physician, nurse practitioner or other prescriber authorised in your province or territory, dispensed by a provincially licensed pharmacy.
How to get a prescription
Start with your family doctor or nurse practitioner, or a walk-in or virtual clinic in your province. If Rybelsus is suitable, they will prescribe it and you can fill the prescription at any licensed pharmacy, in person or by delivery. If you have provincial or private drug coverage, the pharmacy will bill your plan; in Ontario, Rybelsus is covered for eligible ODB recipients who meet the Limited Use criteria, while BC PharmaCare does not cover it.
Several virtual care services, such as Felix and Pocketpills, have their own clinicians and licensed pharmacies: you complete an online assessment, a prescriber reviews it (sometimes with a phone or video call), and the medicine is shipped to you. You can usually only use them if you live in a province where they operate.
Rybelsus is approved for type 2 diabetes, not for weight loss. For weight management, Health Canada has approved Wegovy, Zepbound and, since June 2026, the generic semaglutide injection Sevmia; ask your prescriber which option suits you. Cheaper generic semaglutide injections are now also available for type 2 diabetes, but there is still no generic tablet.
Cost and cover
Provincial drug plans (Ontario Drug Benefit, BC PharmaCare, RAMQ and others) and private insurance
Coverage depends on your province. Ontario: Rybelsus is a Limited Use benefit on the Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) Formulary (reason for use code 738) for adults with type 2 diabetes whose blood sugar is not adequately controlled on the maximum tolerated dose of metformin, or when metformin is contraindicated or inappropriate. It is not funded together with another GLP-1 receptor agonist or a DPP-4 inhibitor, and Ontario pays for only one form of semaglutide (tablets or injection), not both. ODB recipients aged 65 and over pay the first $100 of prescription costs each program year (August to July), then up to $6.11 per prescription; lower-income seniors, social assistance recipients and long-term care residents pay up to $2; people under 25 without private insurance are covered through OHIP+ at no cost.
British Columbia: the PharmaCare formulary search (coverage information updated 8 September 2026) lists Rybelsus 3 mg, 7 mg and 14 mg as a Non-Benefit, so PharmaCare does not pay for it, and the new 1.5/4/9 mg strengths are not listed. BC PharmaCare does cover semaglutide injection (Ozempic and the generics) with Special Authority.
Quebec: the RAMQ covers Rybelsus as an exception drug (medicament d'exception), which is reimbursed only when RAMQ's clinical criteria are met. For the new 1.5/4/9 mg strengths, INESSS recommended conditional listing (published 4 June 2025) and the minister decided on 30 July 2026 to list them as exception drugs.
Other provinces and territories set their own rules; we have not checked them. Private (employer) drug plans decide coverage themselves, so check with your insurer whether prior authorisation is needed.
Paying yourself
Canadian drug prices are not set nationally and vary by province and pharmacy. Ontario's drug benefit price for Rybelsus is CAD 7.5303 per tablet for every strength, about CAD 225.91 for 30 tablets; this is what the Ontario plan pays for the drug itself, and people paying cash also pay the pharmacy's markup and dispensing fee. Felix, an online service with its own pharmacy, lists Rybelsus refills at CAD 322.80 (Ontario price after Novo Nordisk's patient support program discount, strength not stated, prices last updated 21 May 2026) and the first 30 days at CAD 0. Ask your pharmacy for a quote, and check whether your provincial or private plan covers it.
Prices checked 22 September 2026. They change; the supplier's own site is the final word.
Where to get it
Registered suppliers in Canada
Advertising prescription-only medicines to the public is not allowed in Canada, so this is a neutral directory: suppliers are listed alphabetically, we do not show their prices or rank them, and we are not paid for these links.
Pharmacy chain
Costco Pharmacy
Registered with Provincial pharmacy regulators (each Costco pharmacy is licensed in its own province) Check the register ↗
- Online consultation
- No
- Fills your own prescription
- Yes
Online doctor / telehealth
Felix Health
Registered with Ontario College of Pharmacists (Felix Pharmacy East Inc.); Felix Pharmacy West Inc. serves BC, MB and AB no. 310516 Check the register ↗
- Online consultation
- Yes
- Fills your own prescription
- Not stated
Oral medicines supplied:RybelsusOnline doctor / telehealth
Maple
Registered with Provincial colleges of physicians and surgeons and nursing regulators (Maple's doctors and nurse practitioners are Canadian-licensed)
- Online consultation
- Yes
- Fills your own prescription
- Not stated
Online pharmacy
Mednow
Registered with Ontario College of Pharmacists (Mednow Pharmacy, Mednow Digital Pharmacy (ON) Inc.); Mednow says a second licensed entity serves western Canada no. 311308 Check the register ↗
- Online consultation
- Not stated
- Fills your own prescription
- Yes
Online pharmacy
Pocketpills
Registered with Ontario College of Pharmacists (Pocketpills Pharmacy, 2670271 Ontario Inc.) no. 307234 Check the register ↗
- Online consultation
- Yes
- Fills your own prescription
- Yes
Oral medicines supplied:RybelsusPharmacy chain
Shoppers Drug Mart
Registered with Provincial pharmacy regulators (each Shoppers Drug Mart pharmacy is licensed in its own province) Check the register ↗
- Online consultation
- No
- Fills your own prescription
- Yes
Checking a pharmacy is genuine
Every pharmacy in Canada must be licensed by the regulator of the province or territory it operates in. Find the pharmacy's legal name, address and licence or accreditation number on its website, then look it up on that regulator's public register; NAPRA (the National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities) links to all of them. In Ontario, for example, the College of Pharmacists' Find a Pharmacy search shows the accreditation number, owner and whether the pharmacy is Entitled to operate.
The CIPA seal is not a licence. The Canadian International Pharmacy Association is a trade association of licensed mail-order pharmacies, many of which serve customers in the US. CIPA says its members also work with international pharmacies and fulfilment centres outside Canada that ship directly to patients, so medicine ordered from a CIPA site may not come from Canada. CIPA also warns that its seal is sometimes copied, so check membership on cipa.com and check the dispensing pharmacy on the provincial register.
- Medicines regulatorHealth Canada ↗
- Pharmacy regulatorProvincial and territorial pharmacy regulatory authorities (for example the Ontario College of Pharmacists, the College of Pharmacists of British Columbia and the Ordre des pharmaciens du Quebec) ↗
- Prescriber regulatorProvincial and territorial colleges of physicians and surgeons, and nursing regulators for nurse practitioners (listed by FMRAC) ↗
Fake semaglutide is widespread. Any site that offers Rybelsus without a prescription, or at a price far below everyone else, should be avoided. How to buy safely.
Other options in Canada
How the other semaglutide and GLP-1 medicines stand here. Tablets first; injections for comparison.
-
Not approved in Canada as of 22 September 2026, and we could not confirm whether Novo Nordisk has filed for it here. Health Canada does not confirm individual filings; its Submissions Under Review list (updated 31 July 2026) shows a supplemental semaglutide submission from Novo Nordisk Canada accepted in January 2026 but does not name the product, so it may or may not be the Wegovy pill.
-
Eli Lilly's orforglipron (sold as Foundayo in the US) was accepted for Health Canada review in January 2026 as a new active substance under an aligned review. It was still on the Submissions Under Review list updated 31 July 2026, and we found no Canadian approval announcement.
-
Weekly semaglutide injection for type 2 diabetes. Since the generics arrived, Ontario treats Ozempic and generic semaglutide as interchangeable: the ODB price for an Ozempic pen is CAD 227.94 but the plan pays up to the generic price of CAD 78.141. BC PharmaCare covers it with Special Authority.
-
Weekly semaglutide injection for chronic weight management, available on private prescription. BC PharmaCare lists it as a Non-Benefit. Felix lists Wegovy at CAD 394.65 per pen (Ontario price, 21 May 2026).
-
Weekly tirzepatide injection for type 2 diabetes; the same medicine is sold as Zepbound for weight management in Canada. Felix lists Mounjaro and Zepbound from CAD 350.60 per pen (2.5 mg) to CAD 501.88 (12.5 and 15 mg), Ontario prices as of 21 May 2026.
-
Semaglutide Injection (Dr. Reddy's), Apo-Semaglutide and Sevmia (Apotex) Injection · semaglutide Available
Injections only. Health Canada approved Dr. Reddy's semaglutide injection (equivalent to Ozempic, for type 2 diabetes) on 28 April 2026, Apotex's for type 2 diabetes on 1 May 2026, and Apotex's Sevmia (equivalent to Wegovy, for weight management from age 12) on 29 June 2026, with more applications under review. The Ontario Drug Benefit lists the Dr. Reddy's and Apotex pens at CAD 78.141 each. No generic oral semaglutide (generic Rybelsus) has been approved.
Rybelsus in Canada: questions
Can I buy Rybelsus without a prescription in Canada?
No. Rybelsus is a prescription drug in every province and territory. You need a prescription from a physician, nurse practitioner or other authorised prescriber, dispensed by a licensed pharmacy. A website that offers Rybelsus without a prescription is not a legitimate Canadian pharmacy.
Is there a generic version of Rybelsus in Canada?
No. Canada became the first G7 country to approve generic semaglutide in April 2026, but every generic approved so far is a weekly injection: Dr. Reddy's and Apotex versions of Ozempic for type 2 diabetes, and Apotex's Sevmia, a generic of Wegovy for weight management. No generic semaglutide tablet has been approved as of 22 September 2026.
What are the new 1.5 mg, 4 mg and 9 mg Rybelsus tablets?
They are an updated formulation that Novo Nordisk introduced in Canada in June 2026. More of the semaglutide is absorbed, so smaller doses give the same effect as the old tablets: 1.5 mg replaces 3 mg, 4 mg replaces 7 mg and 9 mg replaces 14 mg. The milligram numbers are not interchangeable, so ask your prescriber or pharmacist how and when to switch.
Is Rybelsus covered by the Ontario Drug Benefit?
Yes, as a Limited Use benefit. Your prescriber must confirm that you are an adult with type 2 diabetes whose blood sugar is not adequately controlled on the maximum tolerated dose of metformin, or that metformin is contraindicated or inappropriate (reason for use code 738). It is not covered together with another GLP-1 drug or a DPP-4 inhibitor, or together with semaglutide injections. ODB recipients still pay the usual deductible and co-payment, for example up to $6.11 per prescription for most seniors after the $100 annual deductible.
Is Rybelsus covered in British Columbia and Quebec?
Not in BC: the PharmaCare formulary lists Rybelsus as a Non-Benefit, although semaglutide injections are covered with Special Authority. In Quebec, the RAMQ covers Rybelsus as an exception drug, which means you must meet its clinical criteria; the new 1.5, 4 and 9 mg strengths were added as exception drugs by a ministerial decision dated 30 July 2026. Private insurance plans set their own rules.
How much does Rybelsus cost in Canada without insurance?
Prices vary by pharmacy. As a guide, Ontario's drug benefit price is CAD 7.5303 per tablet, about CAD 226 for 30 tablets, before the pharmacy's markup and dispensing fee, and the online service Felix listed refills at CAD 322.80 in May 2026 after Novo Nordisk's patient support program discount. Ask your pharmacy for a quote and ask whether you qualify for the manufacturer's support program.
Can Americans buy Rybelsus from a Canadian pharmacy?
It is legally risky. The US Food and Drug Administration says that in most circumstances it is illegal for individuals to import drugs into the US for personal use, although it may use enforcement discretion for a supply of up to three months in limited situations. A licensed Canadian pharmacy will only dispense against a valid prescription and must follow its provincial regulator's rules. Many websites that claim to be Canadian are not; some mail-order sites ship from other countries. If you are in the US, oral semaglutide 1.5, 4 and 9 mg is now sold there as Ozempic tablets.
Does a CIPA seal mean a pharmacy is safe and licensed?
Not on its own. CIPA (the Canadian International Pharmacy Association) is an industry association, not a regulator. It says its members are licensed pharmacies but that they may also supply medicines through regulated pharmacies and fulfilment centres in other countries, so your order may not come from Canada. Check membership on cipa.com, because the seal is sometimes copied, and check the dispensing pharmacy's licence on the provincial regulator's register.
Is the Wegovy pill available in Canada?
No, not as of 22 September 2026. Health Canada's list of submissions under review (updated 31 July 2026) shows a supplemental semaglutide submission from Novo Nordisk Canada accepted in January 2026, but it does not say which product it is, and no approval has been announced. Rybelsus is currently the only semaglutide tablet sold in Canada, and it is approved for type 2 diabetes, not weight loss.
Is Foundayo (orforglipron) available in Canada?
Not yet. Eli Lilly's orforglipron was accepted for Health Canada review in January 2026 and was still under review on the list updated 31 July 2026. We found no Canadian approval as of 22 September 2026, and the Canadian brand name has not been announced.
Can I get Rybelsus for weight loss in Canada?
Rybelsus is approved in Canada for type 2 diabetes, not weight loss, and provincial plans cover it only for diabetes. Prescribing it for another use is a decision for your prescriber. Medicines approved for weight management in Canada include Wegovy, Zepbound and the generic semaglutide injection Sevmia.
How do I check that an online pharmacy in Canada is legitimate?
Look for the pharmacy's legal name, street address and licence number on the website, then search for it on the register of the provincial or territorial pharmacy regulator (NAPRA links to all of them). A legitimate pharmacy requires a valid prescription, has a pharmacist you can speak to, and ships from a licensed Canadian address. Be wary of sites that offer prescription drugs without a prescription, ship from other countries, or show only a CIPA or other seal.
Sources
- Novo Nordisk Canada: updated Rybelsus tablet formulation introduced in Canada (1.5, 4 and 9 mg), 2026-06-09 newswire.ca
- Ontario Drug Benefit Formulary: incretin mimetics (Rybelsus 1.5 to 14 mg at 7.5303 per tablet; Ozempic and generic semaglutide) formulary.health.gov.on.ca
- Ontario Drug Benefit Formulary: Rybelsus 1.5 mg (DIN 02551012), listed 2026-03-31 formulary.health.gov.on.ca
- Ontario Drug Benefit Formulary: Limited Use criteria for oral semaglutide (reason for use code 738) formulary.health.gov.on.ca
- Ontario: get coverage for prescription drugs (ODB deductible and co-payments, OHIP+) ontario.ca
- BC PharmaCare Formulary Search (semaglutide: Rybelsus listed as Non-Benefit; coverage information updated 2026-09-08) pharmacareformularysearch.gov.bc.ca
- INESSS: Rybelsus (type 2 diabetes) 1.5, 4 and 9 mg, ministerial decision to list as exception drug 2026-07-30 inesss.qc.ca
- Felix Health: Rybelsus pricing in Canada (prices last updated 2026-05-21) felixforyou.ca
- Health Canada: Canada becomes the first G7 country to approve a generic version of semaglutide (Dr. Reddy's, 2026-04-28) canada.ca
- Health Canada: Canada approves second generic semaglutide (Apotex, 2026-05-01) canada.ca
- Health Canada: Canada approves first generic semaglutide for weight loss (Sevmia, 2026-06-29) canada.ca
- Health Canada: new drug submissions under review (orforglipron calcium, accepted 2026-01; list updated 2026-07-31) canada.ca
- Health Canada: supplemental submissions under review (semaglutide, Novo Nordisk Canada, accepted 2026-01; list updated 2026-07-31) canada.ca
- Food and Drug Regulations, section C.01.044 (advertising prescription drugs to the general public) laws-lois.justice.gc.ca
- Food and Drugs Act, section 3 (advertising for Schedule A.1 diseases) laws-lois.justice.gc.ca
- US FDA: personal importation (generally illegal; enforcement discretion up to a three-month supply) fda.gov
- CIPA (Canadian International Pharmacy Association): about, membership and seal verification cipa.com
- NAPRA: pharmacy regulatory authorities in each province and territory napra.ca
- Ontario College of Pharmacists: Find a Pharmacy public register members.ocpinfo.com
Elsewhere